skip navigation

Washburn's Louis, Mankato West's Makela named Mr. Soccer

By Peter Odney, SportsEngine, 11/10/16, 12:45PM CST


Juan Louis named Mr. Soccer in Class 2A

Juan Louis portrait.

Minneapolis Washburn's Juan Louis recorded 26 goals and 65 points as the Millers ended their season with a 3-0 loss to Wayzata in the Section 6-2A finals. 

A 2015 All-State selection by the Minnesota State High School Coaches' Association, Louis improved on last season's campaign which totaled 16 goals and 38 points. 

Louis has also been selected to participate in this year's TeamSnap High School Soccer All-America Games, which will be played Saturday, Dec. 3, at Cardinal Gibbons High School in Raleigh, N.C.

2016 Class 2A Mr. Soccer Candidates

Juan Louis, Minneapolis Washburn 

Patrick Allan, Stillwater

Ryan DeBois, Maple Grove

Olaf Morkeberg, Lakeville North 

Tyler Stevens, Wayzata

Jake Makela named Mr. Soccer in Class 1A

Jake Makela scoring a goal during a regular season game.

A first-team All-State selection, Jake Makela led Minnesota with 43 goals during the regular season, and finished 2016 with 45. 

Makela and the Scarlets ended the season in third place in Class 1A, defeating Blake 2-0 after falling to Northfield 3-0 in the semifinals. 

Mankato West finished with an overall record of 19-3-0, a win total that matches the 2014 season when the Scarlets also advanced to the third-place game. 

In late September, Makela broke the record for goals scored in a career, eclipsing the record of 112 previously held by Grant Bell of Little Falls. He ended the season with 132 goals. 

2016 Class 1A Mr. Soccer Candidates

Jake Makela, Mankato West

Luke Horton, Benilde-St. Margaret's

Tyler Johnson, St. Paul Como Park 

Jesus Nevarez, Willmar

Garrett Opperman, Breck

About the award

The Minnesota State High School Soccer Coaches Association (MSHSSCA) bestows the Mr. and Ms. Soccer Award to the individual who is determined to be the best player in Minnesota. The awards are handed out to both Class 1A and 2A players and are decided by member coaches from the MSHSSCA.

Photo Gallery

Spotlight Game Coverage

Most Popular